Thoughts ripple through the path

*This blog is inspired by a recent visit I took to a coastal town. If one is of the opinion that they would like to take time to go to the sea, and if opportunities allow, a day by the beach in my view is a day well spent.

It might as well be the entrance to C.S. Lewis’ Narnia or J.M. Barrie’s Neverland, given the lamp-post that obscures the view.

4920501943_2369e64c6a_o

The path of thoughts meanders, one a to another, as gently as the sea that I observe.

I take a breath of summer seasoning.                                                                                 My eyes and mind switched on, to the view. I turn away and I question if it really does exist. The night’s a box of hidden photos; so intense are the images that come to mind as I take in the sheer vastness of sea, sky, and clouds. I also have the notion that it’s like the night’s dark sky is coffee for thought.

I see my reflection in the glass, looking outwards towards the sea whilst I wait for my food order. It’s the first time I’ve seen myself so pensive.

9594001090_875afe1140_z

Twice I breathe, at the implausibility of one pool existing for- I’m not sure…                   Television series reach omega.                                                                                     Events happen and the reach their conclusion.                                                                     Yet in that time the same water swings back and forth, dipping with Atlantis’ ancestry.

Pebbled towers on the stadium-like harbour that surrounds the sea, erode                       until after generations the sands will write on future windscreens ‘they holidayed here’.   A bird will indent the night. A nocturnal being will wonder into humanity – for just a second.

9672780835_aab86d446a_z

Who knows how many times all this will happen to those random passers-by.                     Before once again they spring back to the Ancient Greek ‘Polis’ (country),                           A place where one feels most at home.

Sources:-                                                                                                                         image 1 – Anocheciendo en Costa Adeje – José Luis Antúnez                                                               www.flickr.com/photos/jlantunez/4920501943/ (accessed 2.8.2014)

image 2 – Sunset at Costa Adeje, South of Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain – Manu766                        http://www.flickr.com/photos/98006763@N02/9594001090/ (accessed 2.8.2014)

image 3 – My wife enjoying the sea at Costa Adeje, Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain                           Manu766                                                                                                                                    http://www.flickr.com/photos/98006763@N02/672780835/ (accessed 2.8.2014)

By Amanda Lynsdale

2 thoughts on “Thoughts ripple through the path

  1. Your posts Mandy always have affect of swirling me to another place another time. So thanks for that we all need these real time hols as well as the imaginative ones. Love it, “I’m ready to go wandering”. Well chosen pics too. Sue 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Su, thanks for you reply to this post. As ever, I really appreciate it.
    I’m glad to hear you enjoyed reading it. Yeah I agree, it’s good to get away from things at times if we’re able to – either physically or just letting our imaginations wonder. I’m also glad you liked the picture too, I was pleased that I was able to find some that (for me) perfectly got across the essence of what I was trying to say.
    Best wishes and I hope you’re ok. Mandi 🙂

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

