Wildflowers in unexpected places

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If anyone travels down King Lane, near the park and ride just off the ring road, you might have noticed an area of wildflowers that has sprung up on the grassy areas at the side of the road.

I first saw it in 2012, and determined to get some photos, which I failed to do.  This year I had no excuse, so armed with my Leeds Wellbeing Web camera, I snapped some close-ups of the blooms, some of which I’ve added here.

I’ve noticed on occasion that the site is visited by people with clipboards.  Is it a study? Is it something to do with Moortown Community Group?  Was is the council’s idea?  I don’t know, but I love it!  My photos were snapped a few weeks ago, and recently it had been looking bedraggled. However, the recent un-autumnlike temperatures seem to have revived it, and I noticed some new flowers this week.

I think it might be good for a bit longer, but who knows what the weather will bring now October is here.  So if you want to see it yourself, it’s near the Moor Allerton District Centre (51 or 52 bus from the city centre) or you pass it on the 7 or 7A bus, also from town.

I love seeing nature at work in unexpected places, and this wildflower area makes me smile.  Whoever created it, I thank you!

4 thoughts on “Wildflowers in unexpected places

  1. Hi Gillian, Fabulous post, it and the flower pics revived me after a little snooze once I got home!, keeping eyes peeled for these little urban ‘lilies of the field’ has helped raise my spirits on more than one occasion, capturing and reproducing them giving a extra boost. Thank you!

    Su 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Gillian, I really love the photos too, and to see wild life encouraged around the city. Milan showed me a similar patch deep in the heart of darkest Holbeck one day, and it was really beautiful at the height of the Summer. That was part of Holbeck Green Corridor – you can see some photos of that here: https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=Holbeck+green+corridor&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=yvhKUvDfK4We0QWdxIDoBQ&ved=0CD8QsAQ&biw=1024&bih=712&dpr=1

    Like

  3. If anyone is interested, I have found out who planted the wildflower area on King Lane that I wrote about. I stumbled upon an issue of Yorkshire Life magazine in a garden centre, and spotted an article about wildflower meadows in Leeds on the front page. Turning to the article I saw a picture of the meadow in question, complete with number 7 bus going past! It’s part of a study Leeds University is involved in, looking at the the impact of these created flowery meadows on local populations of bees etc. Apparently there are more in Beeston, Hunslet, West Park and Horsforth, and the Leeds study is linked to others in Bristol, Edinburgh and Reading. That explains the folks with the clipboards. I like to know what’s going on!

    Like

    • Thanks Gillian, that’s really interesting information, I spotted a similar patch in Sweet Street, (Hunslet?) at the weekend. and previously last summer a border alongside the allotments on Woodhouse Moor, they cheered my spirits every time I saw it, somewhere! I have a photo taken on my little old mobile.
      You used to be ale to get ‘wild’ meadow flower seeds at BTCV Hollybush. Lets hope this experiment does help increase the bee population. It’s good to share information, looking forward to more. Cheers, Su

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

