Dancing….for a short while*

Have you ever been tempted to dance on the street..in the supermarket? I have been and have done it in my zanier moments! perhaps some doubted my sanity but it felt liberating!

Audre Lorde in her approach to inspiring  people to speak their truth, counter balances that ‘revolution’ by light heartedly stating the need for frivolity, I have found that important in my well being.

Social media can give us a space to speak our truth and to share things we consider news worthy and inspiring. I remain cautious though about some of its uses, overwhelmed by its apparent complexity, in truth  it’s nothing more than pressing the correct buttons,

Should I tweet, hashtag, have a Facebook account, a twitwheel, Pintrest, Youtube channel or blog?…who might my intended audience be? will they trample on my truths and experience? Do I choose  to sign petitions by tick box. press a ‘like’ button or type in a  word, often ‘jump’ ..’see what happens’ …in my experience nothing… except  bumping up the numbers of that particular site, with what purpose? are there any assurance that you are linking to reputable sites? some that appear so, often have commercial or political backers who’s principles and aims differ significantly.

However, I found the following quotes which friends recently liked and linked ….the first by Audre Lourde…

“Once you start to speak, people will yell at you.

They will interrupt you, put you down and suggest it’s personal.

AND THE WORLD WONT END

And the speaking will get easier and easier.

And you will find you have fallen in love with your own vision, which you may never have realized you had.

And you will lose some friends and lovers, and realize you don’t miss them.

And new ones will find you and cherish you.

And you will still flirt and paint your nails, dress up and party,

because, as I think Emma Goldman said,

“If I can’t dance, I don’t want to be part of your revolution.”

And at last you’ll know with surpassing certainty that only one thing is more frightening than speaking your truth. And that is not speaking.”

…and here is a ‘LIKE’ , which I really did like but as suggested, copied and pasted instead

From Amy Smith

“Did you know the people that are the strongest are usually the the most sensitive? Did you know the people who exhibit the most kindness are the first to get mistreated? Did you know the ones who takes care of others all the time are usually the ones who need it the most? Did you know the 3 hardest things to say are I love you, I’m sorry and Help me. Sometimes just because a person looks happy, you might have to look past their smile and see how much pain they may be in. To all of my friends who are going through some issues right now– Lets start an intention avalanche. We all need positive intentions right now. If I don’t see your name I’ll understand. May I ask my friends wherever you might be, to kindly copy & paste this status to give a moment of support to all those who may have family problems, health struggles, job issues, worries of any kind and just need to know that someone cares. Do it for all of us for nobody is immune. I hope to see this on the walls of all my friends just for moral support. I know some will!!! I did it for a friend and you can too. ….COPY AND PASTE THIS ONE, NO SHARE BUTTON, BECAUSE KINDNESS IS AN EFFORT, GIVES FROM THE HEART;NOT A PRESS OF A BUTTON”

Su

* ‘Oh Very Young’ Cat Stevens

4 thoughts on “Dancing….for a short while*

  1. Thanks, Sue, I love this quote by Audre Lorde. Now, as for dancing on the street and in the supermarket, no I haven’t done it myself, but it sounds fun. “And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music.” – Nietzsche.

    Like

  2. Sometimes I feel like the world would be a better place if we could ‘dance in the street’. I often experience little highs of energy with nowhere seemingly to put it. I have been attending a singing course whereby we sing sounds rather than words and we time ourselves – our latest was ten minutes. It seems to release something which seems a little trapped and hindered by the society we live in. It’s quite raw and very interesting. Keep talking x

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

